NCAA Division I Women’s
Volleyball Championship

NCAA VOLLEYBALL: DEC 15 Division I Women's Volleyball Championship - Final - Oregon v Texas
Date: December 19–21, 2013

Location: KeyArena at Seattle Center

Rights Owner: NCAA

Co-Hosts: University of Washington and Seattle Sports Commission

Event History: The first NCAA-sponsored women’s national volleyball championship was held in 1981 when volleyball became one of 12 women’s sports added to the organization’s calendar. The NCAA has expanded championship participation over the years with 28 teams competing through 1985, 32 through 1992, 48 through 1996, 56 in 1997 and 64—today’s total—beginning in 1998. Since the NCAA event began, just 10 squads have captured the national title. This year’s host, the University of Washington, took the crown in 2005.

To read the rest of this article in SportsTravel, please click here.