The biggest auto racing series in the world will be partnering with a new all-women racing series for two events during the 2020 season.

The W Series, in its second year of competition, will stage new races in Austin, Texas, and Mexico City to pair with Formula 1 events on the calendar at Circuit of the Americas on October 24 and Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez on October 31. Each of those races will be the day before Formula 1 events are held at the sites.

“We at W Series are absolutely delighted that, in only our second season, our championship has been welcomed by Formula 1 and we’re utterly thrilled that the final two races of the 2020 W Series season will therefore take place as part of the Formula 1 platform,” W Series Chief Executive Officer Catherine Bond Muir said. “Interest in and enthusiasm for W Series was enormous in our first season among media and fans alike, and the addition of two all-new W Series races on the Formula 1 platform will inevitably increase that enthusiasm and interest.”

The two races mark an expansion of the W Series schedule in 2020 to eight races, up from six in 2019.

“We are delighted to welcome W Series to two such spectacular events of the 2020 FIA Formula 1 World Championship such as those in Austin and Mexico City,” Formula 1 Managing Director Ross Brawn said. “In just one year, W Series has contributed significantly to increasing interest in the topic of diversity and inclusion in motorsport. We are convinced that our sport must offer equal opportunities for men and women to compete together — it is no coincidence that improving the diversity of the F1 grid by supporting and promoting driver talent from under-represented backgrounds is one of our strategic objectives. The ability for the great crowds who traditionally attend the Austin and Mexico City Grands Prix to see these talented female drivers up close will definitely further raise the awareness of the importance of inclusion and diversity in motorsport.”

W Series 2020 Schedule

May 30–St. Petersburg, Russia
June 13–Anderstorp, Sweden
June 27–Monza, Italy
July 11–Norisring, Germany
August 23–Brands Hatch, England
September 5–Assen, Netherlands
October 24–Austin, Texas
October 31–Mexico City