ncaaThe NCAA has announced host sites for the first and second rounds and regional finals of the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship, including a first-time tournament host and two locations that last hosted a championship round more than a decade ago.

Cities selected by the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee are Ames, Iowa; Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Chapel Hill, North Carolina; College Park, Maryland; College Station, Texas; Durham, North Carolina; Iowa City, Iowa; Knoxville, Tennessee; Lexington, Kentucky; Los Angeles; Seattle; Storrs, Connecticut; Toledo, Ohio; University Park, Pennsylvania; Waco, Texas; and West Lafayette, Indiana. The four selected regional sites are Lincoln, Nebraska; Louisville, Kentucky; Notre Dame, Indiana; and Stanford, California.

The 2014 Women’s Final Four, whose host site was previously announced, will be staged in Nashville, Tennessee.

Toledo will be hosting Division I Women’s Basketball Championship play for the first time, while Los Angeles’ Pauley Pavilion, which hosted the 1984 NCAA Women’s Final Four, will see championship play for the first time since 1999. Lexington, which will host first- and second-round action, will be involved in championship play for the first time since the 1986 Women’s Final Four.

“The committee continues to look for ways to create a better in-arena atmosphere for our student-athletes, improve attendance and enhance the broadcast look of the games,” said Carolayne Henry, chair of the Division I Women’s Basketball Committee and senior associate commissioner/senior woman administrator at the Mountain West Conference. “The 2014 championship presented us with a unique opportunity for our institutional hosts during the regional rounds of play. The committee is continuing to look at other host and format options that make sense for our championship going into 2015 and beyond.”