In the wake of the devastating storm that hit the Oklahoma City suburb of Moore on May 20, the Big 12 Conference is postponing the start of the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship.

“Our hearts go out to all this tragedy has touched,” said Big 12 Commissioner Bob Bowlsby. “We have been in constant contact with the event organizers in Oklahoma City and are following a recommendation to play the championship, but not as previously scheduled.”

The championship was set to begin on May 22 at the Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in a double-elimination tournament format but is switching to a May 23 start date and pool play.

The format, which has previously been used by the Big 12, will feature two pools: Kansas State, Texas Tech, Oklahoma and Baylor will play in one pool while Oklahoma State, West Virginia, TCU and Kansas will play in the second pool. Each team will be guaranteed three games and the team with the best record in each pool will advance to the championship game on May 26.