Peter_Burwash_croppedPeter Burwash, the founder and president of Peter Burwash International, the largest tennis management company in the world, and the “Leadership Coach” columnist for SportsTravel magazine, will become the 10th inductee into the Tennis Industry Hall of Fame in a ceremony during the TIA Tennis Forum on August 31. As the sole inductee for 2015, Burwash will join tennis legends Billie Jean KingNick Bollettieri and Dennis Van der Meer, who have been previous inductees.

Burwash grew up in Canada and competed on the ATP professional tennis tour from 1967 to 1974, winning 19 international singles and doubles titles. He is a former No. 1-ranked player for Canada and was a member of Canada’s Davis Cup team. He founded PBI in 1975, and the company now operates in 32 countries managing tennis programs for some of the world’s largest resorts and private clubs. Throughout his career as a leader in the tennis industry, he has stressed to tennis professionals the importance of customer service, commitment to excellence and the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of others.

A certified sports physiologist and nutritionist, Burwash is also the author of “Tennis for Life,” which has sold more than 1 million copies. He has written 11 books on topics that include service, leadership, health, fitness and personal development. In 1995, he received the International Tennis Hall of Fame’s Educational Merit Award.

“I am greatly honored to have been selected for the Tennis Industry Hall of Fame,” said Burwash. “I’ve loved tennis ever since I first picked up a racket at age 12. Our business for the last 40 years has been all about helping people to play tennis and enjoy the game. It’s wonderful to receive this recognition for doing something you love. Although this is an individual honor, it would not have happened without the dedication and loyalty of so many PBI professionals.”

The Tennis Industry Hall of Fame was created in 2008 to recognize those individuals—inventors, founders, innovators and contributors—who have made a significant impact on the sport of tennis. The Tennis Industry Hall of Fame currently has nine inductees: Howard Head (2008), Dennis Van der Meer (2008), Alan Schwartz (2009), Billie Jean King (2010), Nick Bollettieri (2011), Howard Gill Jr. (2013), Walter Montenegro (2013), Sheldon Westervelt (2013) and Jim Baugh (2014). Plaques of Tennis Industry Hall of Fame inductees are displayed at the International Tennis Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island.