Six candidates will compete in the race to become the next president of the International Olympic Committee. The winner, who will be decided at the 125th IOC Session on September 10, 2013, in Buenos Aires, Argentina, will replace Jacques Rogge in the position.

The six candidates who declared their intent to run by the June 6 deadline are Thomas Bach (Germany), Sergei Bubka (Ukraine), Richard Carrión (Puerto Rico), Ser Miang Ng (Singapore), Denis Oswald (Switzerland) and Ching-Kuo Wu (Taiwan). Each will make a presentation to the full IOC membership at a meeting on July 3–4 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Bach has been a vice-president of the IOC since 2006 and also served in the role from 2000–2004. He was member of the IOC Executive Board from 1996–2000. He also participated in four Olympic Games, winning a gold medal in 1988 in fencing.

Bubka was a world-champion pole vaulter, competing in four Olympics, winning gold in 1988. He was athlete’s representative on the IOC Executive Board from 2000–2008 and has been a member of the board since 2012.

Carrión has been an IOC member since 1990 and chairs the finance commission. He has been a member of the executive committee of the National Olympic Committee in Puerto Rico since 1990.

Ng has been an IOC vice-president since 2009 and served on the Executive Board from 2005–2009. He was chairman of the Singapore Sports Council from 1991–2002.

Oswald, the president of the International Rowing Federation since 1989, participated in three Olympic Games, winning a bronze medal in 1968 in Mexico City.

Wu has been president of AIBA, the international boxing federation, since 2006. He has been a member of the IOC Executive Board since 2012 and serves on several IOC commissions.