The W Series, a female-only motor racing series, will race at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, on October 23 as part of its eight-race season after plans for the 2020 season were postponed.

The series will have eight races with six in Europe and two in North America, with the series finishing in Mexico City the weekend after its stop in Austin. The series’ first season was in 2019 with 20 drivers contesting six races. Each of the races will be support races for the Formula 1 season as well.

“The prospect of seeing W Series race alongside Formula 1, the world’s premier motor racing series, has become even more tantalizing as a result of today’s announcement of our 2021 race calendar,” W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir said. “W Series’ mission will always be to further the interests and prospects of female racing drivers and to inspire girls and women everywhere. Our 2021 race schedule in partnership with Formula 1 will significantly increase our global reach, impact and influence by placing W Series on motor racing’s greatest stage and taking us to new audiences and territories.”

“We are delighted to announce the eight Formula 1 races that W Series will join in 2021,” Formula 1 Managing Director of Motorsport Ross Brawn added. “There is a really exciting mix of circuits that will showcase the exceptional talent of the drivers in the series. We believe that it is incredibly important to give everyone the chance to reach the highest levels of our sport, and partnering with W Series shows our determination and commitment to building greater diversity across Formula 1.”

The 2020 season was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic and in its place the series held the W Series Esports League with 18 female drivers virtually competing at tracks around the world including the Circuit of the Americas and Watkins Glen International in Watkins Glen, New York.

2021 W Series calendar

June 26: Le Castellet, France
July 3: Spielberg, Austria
July 17: Silverstone, England
July 31: Budapest, Hungary
August 28: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium
September 4: Zandvoort, Netherlands
October 23: Austin, Texas
October 30: Mexico City, Mexico