The American Athletic Conference has selected Fort Worth, Texas, to host the 2021 and 2022 AAC Women’s Basketball Championships. The tournaments will be staged at the city’s new Dickies Arena with the 2021 event staged March 8–11, in conjunction with the men’s championship, which is set to take place March 11–14.

The 2020 AAC Men’s Basketball Championship had been scheduled for the arena before its cancellation, as part of a deal to be held in Fort Worth through 2022.

“I am pleased that both our men’s and women’s basketball tournaments will be held at this spectacular facility in 2021 and 2022,” AAC Commissioner Mike Aresco said. “The city of Fort Worth, the Fort Worth Sports Commission and Dickies Arena have proven to be great partners since we first announced the three-year agreement for our men’s tournament in 2017. Matt Homan and his Dickies Arena staff diligently prepared to host this past year’s men’s tournament and adapted accordingly in the midst of a quickly evolving, unprecedented situation. The efforts of Matt and his team helped us make timely decisions to protect the safety and well-being of everyone on site.

“We all were disappointed that our student-athletes, coaches and fans did not have the opportunity to experience the arena firsthand in a game environment in March. I know that our men’s and women’s teams will enjoy all of the great amenities that Dickies Arena has to offer during their respective tournaments. Fort Worth is a vibrant, sports-minded community that is going to embrace having both of our tournaments in its city.”

The co-location of the men’s and women’s tournaments will be a first for the conference. Six of the 11 conference member schools are located within driving distance of Fort Worth, while the other five members have direct flight options to the area.

“We are excited to welcome the American Women’s Basketball Championship to Fort Worth and we look forward to the opportunity to provide a world-class championship experience for the players, coaches and fans,” said Jason Sands, director of the Fort Worth Sports Commission.